David Brooks, Expert On Early Education…Not!

David Brooks, token RINO on the NYT opinion staff has written a piece on early education and the Obama administration’s recent “push” to inject more funding into early education programs.

Head Start, the original federal early education program, has been in existence since 1965 and recent research has shown that it has been basically a dismal failure. In  Brooks’ whole diatribe, there is only one sentence of one paragraph where I find myself somewhat in agreement with David Brooks.

This is rude to say, but here’s what this is about: Millions of parents don’t have the means, the skill or, in some cases, the interest in building their children’s future.

I’m not an expert…well, perhaps I am somewhat of an expert, being a parent and grandparent. The easiest thing and also the most productive thing for a parent to do is to read to their kids, even if it’s only ten minutes a night right before their bedtime. Imagine…only ten minutes a night and your child will have a step on the rest of the kids in their class.

And if you let your child read along with you as the story is read, it also teaches them to read. I did it for my kids and my grand kids, too and it worked wonders. Of course, the parent can’t stop there. The parent must also show an interest in what their child is learning in school. Just a little help with their school work is a tremendous aid in insuring their educational future.

The main point here is this; You, Mr. and Mrs. Parent, are ultimately responsible for the education your child receives. If you show no interest, how in the hell can you expect your child to show interest?

Via Memeorandum

5 thoughts on “David Brooks, Expert On Early Education…Not!

  1. Even if your kids just see you reading, it makes a huge difference. It may seem simplistic, but monkey see, monkey do. You don’t need a billion dollar federal program to make sure kids are literate, your kids just need to see you open a book, even if it’s just a comic book.

    • While what you say is most likely true, having some age appropriate books around and actually reading to your child and allowing them to read along, will accelerate their progress so that by the time they do start school, they can usually be at least a couple of grades ahead of their classmates in reading comprehension. That will also help them in other subjects as well.

      Thanks for your comment.

      • having some age appropriate books around and actually reading to your child and allowing them to read along

        That’s the next, and preferred, step.

        If a kid sees mom and dad reading, then he or she gets the message that reading is okay, if a kid sees mom and dad doing crack, then he or she gets the message that doing crack is okay.

        I have a feeling a lot of kids these days are growing up seeing mom and dad playing, Angry Birds, on their iPhones and reading very little.

        Anyway, I know my parents read to me and then when I was old enough to read on my own I saw them continue to read on their own and I think that taught me that reading is just something that people do. As I got older I then learned that, in fact, no, reading is not something a lot of people just do, but by then it was too late and I couldn’t stop reading.

  2. Point taken. I remember my parents reading a lot. And we usually got a stack of books for Christmas gifts and Birthdays. I remember getting a bunch of Hardy Boys and Tom Swift books when I was seven. And one of my brothers got a set of classics.

    • I never read Hardy Boys. I have no idea why not, either. Mad Scientists Club, The Chronicles of Prydain, The Chronicles of Narnia, Tolkien, H.G. Welles, and then when I was twelve, my mom gave me a copy of Rocketship Galileo. I think she regretted it because after I consumed all of the YA Heinlein I announced that I wanted to be a science fiction writer. Heh.

Leave a Reply

