Gun Owners “Buycott” Starbucks

Via Live at Five Six;

From the LA Times— Gun control advocates have been promoting a boycott of Starbucks because of the corporate chain’s tendency to follow local law when it comes to allowing guns to be carried into their stores. Open carry is allowed in 43 states and it’s not uncommon to walk into a Starbucks in those states and see someone who is exercising their right to keep and bear arms.

Gun owners, on the other hand, have organized a “buycott” of Starbucks and are spending lots of money on Lattes, Cappuccinos, ect. in support of the “buycott.” Good for them. I’ve never been in a Starbucks, but I might have to change my mind now.

Photo: Starbucks allows patrons to openly carry guns in the 43 states that have such laws. Credit: Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence

 

 

Personally, I think in these economic times, boycotts actually hurt a cause more than they help. Taking money away from a business when your opponent is spending money at these same businesses…well, seems like a no-brainer to me.

Some Ohio State University students protesting outside a Starbucks in Columbus, Ohio carried signs saying…”I carry a gun because I can’t carry a Cop.”

My personal belief is that open carry should be allowed in all fifty states. I also believe that the Second Amendment is my gun permit and no further documentation should be necessary.

Leave a comment