I Got A #HoleInOne Bitches!!! #Golf

As I alluded to on twitter this morning, I was going to Kingwood Country Club outside of Clayton, Ga. Our club, The Jackson County Golf Club, was playing our monthly Saturday tournament there. , Let me tell you it was a scorcher out there today. After I had breakfast in town, I started the forty-five minute drive to the course. When I left town in NW South Carolina at 7:30, the temp was already up to 81 degrees.When I returned to town after my golf round, the thermometer at the bank read 117 degrees.

For those with rudimentary math skills…yeah I got there about an hour and a half too early for a 10:00 tee time. So I hit a few on the range and putted a few on the practice green. I then went back to the clubhouse to drink some free coffee while I sat in the shade and smoked a couple of cigarettes waiting for the rest of the group.

We finally teed off about 10:10 as the second foursome. After everyone else hit their drives in the fairway, I followed with a shot O.B.  So tee it up and hit again, laying three in the fairway. Why the hell didn’t I hit like that the first time? 354 yard par four and I card a 9. What a way to start. I followed that 9 with an 8, then a 7.

I did a little better on the first par three, carded a four. I followed up with a five on the 5th hole, par four. So I thought …hey, maybe this round will get better after all.

So we get to the next par three, number six, a water hole, 140 yards, all carry. Brother tees off and hits just off the edge of the green in front of the hole. I get up there with an eight iron and hit my shot. Brother says…”Looks good Brother…I’ll be damn Brother, it’s in the hole! You got a “freakin” hole in one Brother!”

I still couldn’t believe it until he hit me with two exuberant high fives. And I was still not completely convinced until I walked across the green to pull my ball out of the cup. The other guys razzed me because I didn’t carry my putter up to the hole. I didn’t care because I GOT A FREAKIN’ HOLE IN ONE Bitches! That was a $700.00 shot. That’s what was in the club “hole in one fund” and I got it all baby.

I agreed with one of my fellow golfers when he said…” Hell, if I got an Ace, I wouldn’t care if I shot 200 the rest of the round.” Believe me, I tried. I ended up with a 110 score on a par 71, 5,587 yard course.

If you’re ever in the NE corner of Georgia near Clayton, stop off at Kingwood Country Club and play a round. It’s a challenging mountain course with some great scenery. There are some great risk/reward holes on this course, if you’re game is up to it.

Oh, the green’s fees have dropped to less than fifty bucks on weekends and about forty- one bucks during the week with unlimited play on Tuesdays.

Updated to add: The only way this could have been better is if our other Brother and our Dad could have been there to see it.

5 thoughts on “I Got A #HoleInOne Bitches!!! #Golf

  1. Pingback: Sorta Blogless Sunday Pinup » Pirate's Cove

  2. Awesome news, Mr G!!
    I’ve come close a few times (once it actually lipped out), but I’ve never had an Ace.

    I’m with you: feel free to mark the rest of the card wuth double digits; I wouldn’t care after that.

    You’re in a fairly exclusive club, partner. I, and the majority of my buddies and relatives, have golfed our entire lives and never had one. That is to be treasured.

    CONGRATULATIONS!!

Leave a comment